A Brief History

In 1980 2MBS-FM introduced a series of broadcasts featuring young performers. Due to the overwhelming success of these initial broadcasts the Young Performers program was established in the following year as a regular series.

In 1984 with sponsorship from Vogel’s Bread, the Young Performers series became a competition, with an initial prize of $500. Vogel’s continued their sponsorship of the Young Performer, with increase prizemoney of $1000, through to 1992 when they were bought by Fielders.

The honour roll of the Young Performer Award features many household names including Nicholas Parle, Richard Tognetti, Duncan Gifford, Tamara Anna-Cislowska and Simon Tedeschi to name just a few.

In recent years the Young Performer Award has changed to the Young Virtuoso Award and the winner has gone on to represent 2MBS at the National MBS Network Young Virtuoso Awards.

Young Virtuoso Award (Young Performer Award) Honour Roll

Tap on the table headings to sort by that column

1984Nicholas ParleHarpsichord
1985Lindsay TrioString Trio
1986Kathryn LambertPiano
1987Trish AylingCello
1988Phillip BolligerGuitar
1989William ChenPiano
1990Asmira Woodward-PageViolin
1991Natalie CheeViolin
1992Tamara-Anna CislowskaPiano
1993Scott MarshallOboe
1994The Makovic QuartetString Quartet
1995St Laurence TrioPiano Trio
1996Philip ArkinstallClarinet
1997Emma ShollFlute
1998Kevin ManPercussion
1999Naoko MiyamotoViolin
2000Katrina KelvinFlute
2001Dominica MatthewsMezzo Soprano
2002Quyen LeViolin
2003Thomas DundasViolin
2004Suyeon Kang Violin
2005Simon Powis Guitar
2006Kenichi Mizushima Cello
2007Ju Hwa (Sandy) Sin Percussion
2008Vache Jambazian Piano
2009Emma Moore Soprano
2010Ben Mellefont Clarinet
2011Anna da Silva ChenViolin
2012Bo An LuPiano
2013Grace CliffordViolin
2014Ennes MehmedbasicOboe
2015Vincent LoCello
2016Benett TsaiCello
2017Jennifer HouPiano
2018Anna StephensSoprano
2019Justinn LuSaxophone
2020Cancelled due to COVID 
2021Cancelled due to COVID 
2022Joshua HanPiano
2023Teresa YangViolin